top of page


The Equality Act 2010 aims to prevent discrimination. It is illegal to discriminate against people based on nine protected characteristics:

  • age

  • disability

  • gender reassignment

  • marriage and civil partnership

  • pregnancy and maternity

  • race: can refer to colour, nationality, ethnic or national origins

  • religion or belief: can refer to religious or philosophical beliefs, including a lack of belief

  • sex: refers to a person's gender

  • sexual orientation

We do not tolerate discrimination at Porters Grange Primary School. We believe it is important to teach our pupils about protected characteristics through carefully timetabled assemblies and a planned, age appropriate PSHE curriculum. 

As children learn about protected characteristics, it will help them to respect and understand differences from an early age. By introducing concepts like race, gender, disability, and religion, children develop empathy and open-mindedness, preparing them for a diverse world. This education also breaks down stereotypes, fosters positive relationships, and contributes to creating a fair and inclusive society. Overall, it equips children with essential life skills and values that promote harmony and acceptance.

Please see our PSHE curriculum map that includes the teaching of these protected characteristics.

Screenshot 2023-11-20 at 11.11.00.png
bottom of page